行为管理

探索行为的基本原理,找到适合您和您的学生的管理风格。

行为管理
  • 教学
  • 课堂与行为管理

行为管理

行为管理的关键是了解行为的基本原理,然后找到适合您和您的学生的管理风格。行为是一种交流形式:倾听学生与他们的行为交流的内容,同时了解您自己的行为。

尝试

即使在具有挑战性的情况下,也要与学生保持开放的沟通。尝试了解行为的动机,同时保持明确的期望。

尝试

将几个简单的呼吸练习放在你的后口袋里。

尝试

如果您在吸引学生时遇到困难,请让他们帮助您完成一项任务,例如担任音响工程师和为活动播放音乐。

什么是行为管理? 

行为管理是一系列用于管理或改变学生行为的策略、程序和/或干预措施。行为管理干预可以在全校、课堂或学生特定层面进行。

了解更多 提供有关课堂与行为管理的资源:有什么区别?

为什么行为管理很重要?

管理 ICT 教室可以是预先计划的应急策略和现场干预的平衡行为,这些干预可能发生在许多不同的人群中。拥有一套行为管理资源工具包是支持参与者实现短期和长期学习目标以及与学校员工合作的关键。

“课堂上的行为问题会增加教师和学生的压力水平,扰乱课程流程,并与学习目标和学习过程发生冲突。随着注意力的焦点从手头的学业任务转移到破坏性行为所带来的干扰,它们也改变了课堂动态……孩子们将各种担忧、痛苦、反应和行为模式带到学校,在学校之外建立、允许和支持教室本身。因此,将孩子视为‘问题’可能会转移人们对课堂生态或更广泛的学校、家庭和社区环境的仔细检查的注意力……” (摘自关于循证课堂行为管理策略的报告)

理解行为

行为管理的关键是了解行为的基本原理,然后找到适合您和您的学生的管理风格。行为是一种交流形式,源于满足需求的愿望。

行为的四个基本动机:

  • 逃脱 – 试图避免或推迟学生认为不愉快的活动或情况。
  • 注意力 – 学生试图通过不受欢迎或不当的行为引起注意。
  • 有形 – 个人试图获得对首选项目或活动的访问权。
  • 感官 – 表示身体强化动作的行为,例如,味道好、闻起来好或感觉好。

评估哪些行为在课堂上引起了最多的问题,以及这些行为的根源是什么。是否需要改变课堂管理计划来解决这些行为?

通过股票镜头理解行为

明白 你自己的假设 关于“适当”行为的判断基于您的经历、文化、身份、教育、特权等,并受到以下因素的影响 隐性偏见.以前被视为“标准”行为的行为源自歧视性和支持白人至上的系统。这与我们对种族和残疾方面的行为的期望相交。学生自己可能已经通过这种框架了解自己,从而吸收了反黑人和其他偏见。在 如何成为一个反种族主义者, Ibram X. Kendi 讨论种族主义的方式 侵入教育“身体”的所有部分 以及解决这个问题的方法。

在培养公平和 无耻辱感,同样重要的是要意识到学生可能正在经历或已经经历 创伤 这与他们不同的身份和其他经历有关。行为管理策略应考虑这些因素,并始终满足个别学生的需求。

远程教学提示:

如果您计划远程居住或研讨会,并且对建立学生对成功的期望有疑问,请查看我们的资源 远程学习:适应课堂和行为管理.

一般行为管理策略和模型

积极行为支持

突出积极的行为——你想看到的,以及所有人都能看到和体验到的积极行为。承认什么是有效的,而不是什么是无效的。通过继续以积极的方式口头表达行为期望来加强这一点。

例子:

  • 当您想贡献想法时请举手。
  • 谢谢你等到我说完再提问。

正强化

“当学生取得成就或表现出某些行为时,通过为他们提供积极的结果,鼓励学生再次这样做。积极的强化应该是适合年龄的、真实的,并且在目标行为之后直接给予奖励。” (摘自文章“在课堂上使用积极强化的 5 项活动”)

在练习积极强化时,也应考虑可及性。例如,有听力障碍的学生可能比有视觉障碍的学生更能接受视觉强化。

例子:

  • “我喜欢 ________ 做 ____________ 的方式。” (初级)
  • “今天干得好(任务),________。” (初中/高中)

具体后果

此选项使学生能够在行为管理中进行决策。后果的产生应该注意如何 种族不平等 影响学生,并可能影响他们对期望、后果以及他们如何表达自己的理解。

例子:

  • “如果你没有完成你的绘画,那么你将不被允许参加下一场比赛。”
  • “当你在指导中说话时,你将不知道在活动期间要做什么。”

积极的具体结果

了解活动或课程的具体原因可以对出勤率和参与度产生重大影响。

例子:

  • “完成这项任务会让你离完成 _______ 又近了一步。”
  • “在本课程结束时,您将获得 _______、_______ 和 _______。”

呼吸

全班一起呼吸几次。使用这个简单的策略来让学生平静、接地和集中注意力。

在课堂上使用 Gif 来调节集体呼吸的指南

关于“保持冷静和......只是呼吸”的文章:深呼吸对课堂管理的力量

改变焦点

让学生将注意力集中在不同的事情或一系列事情上,以重新将注意力集中在手头的任务上。这有助于让大脑远离干扰。

例子:

“给我看看你的眼睛,给我看看你的耳朵,给我看看你的鼻子等等”: 这个策略对年幼的小学生和自闭症学生很有帮助。当教学艺术家提出这些不同的提示时,要求学生指向他们身体的不同部位,以放慢速度并重新集中注意力。

“眼睛在天花板上,眼睛在地板上,眼睛在我身上”: 这种策略也对年幼的小学生和自闭症学生有帮助。引导学生分别看着天花板、地板和你,以此来重新设置和专注于教学艺术家。

听取汇报

留出空间谈论事情发生后发生的事情。如果你忽略这一刻,空间中的紧张感就会一直存在。

经常问的问题

没关系。没有一种尺寸适合所有型号。请与您的合作课堂专业人员联系。在某些情况下,教师可能有个性化的 行为管理计划 为特定学生准备好,您可以遵循或纳入您的促进。此外,感觉有权与该学生一起检查。找出他们喜欢什么!学生的行为可能出于某种原因,如果没有他们的洞察力,就不会立即显现出来。

根据 官方“PBIS”或积极行为干预和支持网站, PBIS 是“一种多层次的社会、情感和行为支持方法。 PBIS 的广泛目的是提高学校和其他机构的有效性、效率和公平性。 PBIS 改善了所有学生的社交、情感和学业成绩,包括残疾学生和来自弱势群体的学生。”在过去 2 年中,纽约市的几所学校已将这一系统纳入其全校行为管理系统。

不要把它当个人。每个教室都有不情愿的学生,尤其是当学生接触新事物时。以下是一些可以让学生参与的邀请策略:

  • 将他们的位置移至动作的核心。
  • 请他们帮助你做一些事情(任何事情!)
  • 给出选择。
  • 给他们时间,邀请他们在整个住院医师/课程中不止一次加入。
  • 避免:惩罚学生,把他们赶出房间,威胁学生或让学生难堪,并假设他们很懒惰。

作为课堂访客,很难预测学生何时或为什么会在课堂上爆发。如果确实发生了,请模拟冷静的行为。如果你冷静,其他学生也会保持冷静。要知道,缓和局势不仅是您的责任。提醒教室里的课堂专业人员,因为他们可能已经制定了应对策略。不要试图在身体上阻止或放松学生。让学生可以选择与另一名成人在房间的一部分冷静下来。如果可以,请尝试在爆发后与成年人联系以获取更多信息。根据学生的不同,在他们冷静下来后直接去找他们谈论发生的事情可能合适也可能不合适。

外部资源

Behavior Management

Explore the fundamentals of behavior and find the management style that works for you and your students.

Behavior Management
  • Teaching
  • Classroom & Behavior Management

Behavior Management

The key to Behavior Management is to understand the fundamentals of behavior and then find the management style that works for you and your students. Behavior is a form of communication: Listen to what students are communicating with their behavior while being aware of your own.

Try

Maintain open communication with students even in challenging situations. Try to understand the motivation for the behavior while keeping expectations clear.

Try

Keep a couple of simple breathing exercises in your back pocket.

Try

If you’re having trouble engaging a student, ask them to help you with a task, like being the sound engineer and playing music for an activity.

What is Behavior Management? 

Behavior management is a series of strategies, procedures, and/or interventions used to manage or change student behavior. Behavior management interventions can happen on school-wide, classroom, or student-specific levels.

Learn more in the GIVE resource on Classroom vs. Behavior Management: What’s The Difference?

Why is Behavior Management Important?

Managing an ICT classroom can be a balancing act of pre-planned contingency strategies and on-the-spot interventions that can happen in many different configurations of people. Having a toolkit of resources for behavior management is key for supporting participants in meeting short and long-term learning goals and in collaborating with the school-based staff.

“Behaviour problems in a classroom increase the stress levels for both the teacher and pupils, disrupt the flow of lessons and conflict with both learning objectives and the processes of learning. They also change the classroom dynamic as the focus of attention shifts from the academic tasks at hand to the distractions provided by disruptive behaviors…children bring to school all sorts of concerns, distresses, reactions and patterns of behaviour established, permitted and supported outside of the classroom itself. Thus, targeting a child as ‘the problem’ may divert one’s attention from a careful examination of the classroom ecology or that of the wider school and the family and community environments… ” (excerpt from a report on Evidence-based Classroom Behaviour Management Strategies)

Understanding Behavior

The key to Behavior Management is to understand the fundamentals of behavior and then find the management style that works for you and your students. Behavior is a form of communication and stems from a desire to fulfill a need.

Four Basic Motivators of Behavior:

  • Escape – trying to avoid or delay an activity or situation that the student or students consider unpleasant.
  • Attention – student tries to get attention through unwanted or inappropriate behavior.
  • Tangible – the individual tries to gain access to a preferred item or activity.
  • Sensory – indicates behaviors where the body reinforces the action, e.g., it tastes good, smells good or feels good.

Assess what behaviors are causing the most problems in the classroom and what could be the root of those behaviors. Does there need to be a change in the classroom management plan that could possibly address those behaviors?

Understanding Behavior through an Equity Lens

Understand that your own assumptions about “appropriate” behaviors are based on your experiences, culture, identity, education, privilege, etc. and have been influenced by implicit biases. What was previously upheld as “standard” behavior has been derived from systems that are discriminatory and support white supremacy. This intersects what expectations we have of behavior in terms of both race and disability. Students themselves may have absorbed anti-blackness and other biases from learning about themselves through this framing. In How To Be An Antiracist, Ibram X. Kendi discusses the way racism invades all parts of the educational “body” and ways to combat this.

In fostering a classroom that is equitable and stigma free, it is also important to be aware that students may be experiencing or have experienced trauma that is related to their different identities and other experiences they have had. Behavior management strategies should take these factors into account and always address individual student needs.

Remote Teaching and Learning Tip:

If you are planning a remote residency or workshop and have questions about establishing student expectations for success, check out our resource for Remote Learning: Adaptations for Classroom and Behavior Management.

General Behavior Management Strategies & Models

Positive Behavior Support

Highlight positive behavior—both what you want to see and what positive behaviors can be seen and experienced by all. Acknowledge what is working well rather than what is not working well. Reinforce this by continuing to verbally frame the behavior expectations in a positive way.

Examples:

  • Raise your hand when you want to contribute an idea.
  • Thank you for waiting until I finished speaking to ask a question.

Positive Reinforcement

“By providing students with a positive outcome when they accomplish achievements or display certain behaviors, students are encouraged to do so again. Positive reinforcement should be age-appropriate, genuine, and awarded straight after the target behavior.” (excerpt from the article “5 Activities For Using Positive Reinforcement in the Classroom”)

Accessibility should also be considered when practicing positive reinforcement. A student who has a hearing disability, for example, may be better able to receive visual reinforcement than a student who has a visual disability.

Examples:

  • “I love the way that ________ is doing ____________.” (elementary)
  • “Great job (task) today, ________.” (middle/high school)

Concrete Consequences

This option gives students agency to exercise decision making in behavior management. Consequences should be developed with a mindfulness about how racial inequity impacts students and may affect their understanding of expectations, consequences, and how they express themselves.

Examples:

  • “IF you do not finish your drawing, THEN you will not be allowed to participate in the next game.”
  • “WHEN you talk during directions, THEN you won’t understand what to do during the activity.”

Positive Concrete Outcomes

An understanding of concrete reasons for an activity or class can make a big difference in attendance and participation.

Examples:

  • “Completing this assignment brings you a step closer to finishing _______.”
  • “At the end of this class, you will have achieved _______, _______, and _______.”

Breathing

Take a few breaths together as a class. Use this simple strategy to calm, ground and focus students.

Guide to Using Gifs in the Classroom to Regulate Breathing as a Group

Article on “Keep Calm and…Just Breathe”: The Power of Deep Breathing for Classroom Management

Change the focus

Ask students to focus their attention on something different or a series of things to refocus them onto the task at hand. This helps reset the brain away from the distractions.

Example:

“Show Me Your Eyes, Show Me Your Ears, Show Me Your Nose, Etc.”: This strategy is helpful with younger elementary students and students with Autism. As the teaching artist calls out these different prompts, students are asked to point to different parts of their body as a way to slow down and re-focus.

“Eyes on the ceiling, eyes on the floor, eyes on me”: This strategy is also helpful with younger elementary students and students with Autism. Guide students to look at the ceiling, on the floor, and at you, respectively, as a way to reset and focus on the teaching artist.

Debrief

Give space to talk about what happened after something occurs. If you ignore the moment, the tension in the space will remain.

Frequently Asked Questions

That’s ok. There is no one size fits all model. Check in with your partnering classroom professionals. In some cases, a teacher may have an individualized behavior management plan in place for a specific student that you can follow or incorporate into your facilitation. Also, feel empowered to check in with that student. Find out what they like! A student might be behaving for a reason that is not immediately apparent without their insight.

According to the official “PBIS” or Positive Behavioral Interventions & Supports website, PBIS is “a multi-tiered approach to social, emotional and behavior support. The broad purpose of PBIS is to improve the effectiveness, efficiency and equity of schools and other agencies. PBIS improves social, emotional and academic outcomes for all students, including students with disabilities and students from underrepresented groups.” Over the past 2 years, several NYC schools have shifted to incorporate this system into their school-wide behavior management system.

Don’t take it personally. Every classroom has reluctant students, especially when students are exposed to something new. Here are some strategies to use that leave the invitation open for students to participate:

  • Move their spot to the heart of the action.
  • Ask them to help you with something (anything!)
  • Give choices.
  • Give them time, invite them to join in more than once throughout the residency/lesson.
  • AVOID: Punishing the student, sending them out of the room, threatening or embarrassing the student, and assuming they are lazy.

As classroom visitors, it can be hard to predict when or why a student might have an outburst in the classroom. If it does happen, model calm behavior. If you are calm, the other students will remain calm. Know that it is not solely your responsibility to deescalate the situation. Alert the classroom professionals in the room as they may already have coping strategies in place. Do not try to physically stop or ease the student. Give the student the option to cool-off in part of the room with another adult. If you are able, try to check in with an adult for more information after the outburst. Depending on the student, it may or may not be appropriate to go directly to them once they have cooled down to talk about what happened.

External Resources